Skip to main content

too young for pms?

i’m sure in a couple of years, the main character in all my posts will be micah, but for now, the squeaky wheel gets the oil… or at least the most blog space.

layla is, once again, driving me insane.

i swear the girl has pms! i realize she’s not exactly ‘of that age’, but it’s like she goes through these ‘cycles’. there are times when she’s perfectly normal and delightful and obedient and happy! and then there’s times like this. she cries about everything, she whines, can’t listen or obey anything, throws fall down tantrums, argues about everything, latches onto the stupidest things and digs her heals in and CANNOT get past it, no matter what you do to her. she goes absolutely hysterical every time shane leaves the house without her. UGHHHH!!!!! and the worst of it is that she seems so unhappy! i’ve also noticed that when she’s this way, she has more accidents too. it’s like her whole body is just totally out of whack. she seems so unbalanced.

it’s like the closer she’s getting to 4, the worse she gets. i thought 4 was supposed to be better! well, actually, i thought 3 was supposed to be better than 2, but i was wrong. so maybe i am about this too.

the last time i remember the problem being this bad was last fall when we were trying to do the preschool thing. eventually, we dropped out, thinking that she was just overly tired. she had recently given up naps at the time and between preschool and evening out the gap between giving up the nap and adjusting to not taking one, i attributed her outrageously horrid behavior to that.

so we recently went through a very pleasant period of behavior. layla was just wonderful. would entertain herself for hours, showed signs of gaining self-control, stayed out of trouble, for the most part.

i don’t know what to blame it on now, and makes me wonder if what i assumed was the problem before, was just a coincidence.

but, OMG, it is annoying!

i know i park her in front of the tv more than i should, but sometimes it’s the only thing i can find for her to do that doesn’t somehow lead to a hysterical fit! it was the same way last fall.

so… here’s the question. is my child just a freak? has anyone else experienced this? yes, i realize i have degree that would lead some to believe that i might be the best one to answer this question, but they don’t really have a section in those textbooks on preschoolers with pms. HELP!!!!

Comments

  1. though hazel is younger, i have noticed similar mood swings already. some days she's like an angel and plays well with others, puts her toys away without being asked, and says i love you 400x a day. then, you have days full of things that happened like this evening - where we actually ended up putting her to bed at 620(1-1 1/2 hours early) because she wouldn't take one single bite of her dinner and all she wanted was to watch ya gabba gabba (and the whole condo complex could hear she wanted "Brobee!") anyhow, great to know it doesn't end!! :( good luck!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I think Sara knows more than we do...they MUST be cousins because Sara does the SAME thing!

    And good news...it seems to be getting better at nearly 5, she has learned a bit more self control and if I tell her to go to her room (the threat is if I have to take her I will spank her butt on the way) she normally goes with little complaint to calm down.

    Deep breath Rachel...it's just totally a girl thing! ;)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Ok, my theory after going through this with all 3 of mine. Growth spurts. And at these younger ages, they have a lot more going on at a faster pace so sometimes I think its just hard for their little brains to grasp what is going on. The little aches and pains, the electrodes in the brains growing new routes, that kind of thing. Or to recall Kirk Cameron, Growing Pains.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

all comments are moderated. unkind comments will be deleted.

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...