Skip to main content

public restrooms

why, oh why would you make a public restroom and not put doors on the stalls???

last night, dave and i got to go out for my birthday. we had a pretty good dinner at tgifridays... i say 'pretty good' because the service was a little bit lacking (and wasn't improved when our server dropped a tray of beverages on another customer), and my steak sandwich was next to impossible to eat. it was good, but weird and the bread wasn't big enough or strong enough to support what was on it. but i had a really big margarita, so that made up for it. you know, one of those margaritas that comes in a glass that's so big and heavy you have to use a straw or you feel like you're taking a swig out of a fish bowl every time you take a drink. so then we took a stroll through downtown kirkland and checked out the boats and stuff down at the marina. there were a lot of people and "accessory dogs" out. then we stopped off at ben and jerry's for an ice cream cone when we got a call from shane (the kids were home with my parents). dave saw that a call was coming in from my parents' phone and the conversation apparently went something like this:

dave: what did they do?
shane: hi dad.
dave: oh, hi shane.
shane: uh, where is the ice cream?
dave: it's gone. you guys ate it all this afternoon.
shane: oh.
dave: and why are you asking for ice cream when you already had it?
shane: uhhh.... (gives the phone to my mother)
mom: hi dave. shane said it was his night to have ice cream, but we couldn't find any.
dave: yeah, they finished the ice cream earlier today. and he doesn't have a night for ice cream.

so then we were headed back up to the car and at this point my gigantic margarita had kicked in and i decided to stop off at the restrooms by the baseball field. now, i don't generally go into an outdoor, parkside public restroom expecting much... but i do expect doors! but no, there were NO DOORS!! i walked in, realized this by the time i got to the first stall (which thankfully was empty) and, also realizing that there was someone in the last stall, i promptly walked back out. i was so apalled that i was going to leave. but i really had to pee and at that point the person who had been in the last stall had walked out and i figured that if i used the last stall and was really quick, i might get out before my use of a toilet became a spectator sport. fortunately, i was able to finish up in solitude and hurried on out (there was actually soap and paper towels - which i have come to consider a luxury in park restrooms). eeeewwww! we ended the night by doing some grocery shopping. i know, that doesn't sound like a very exciting thing to do while celebrating your birthday, but like i told dave, anytime i don't have to take my kids to the grocery store is a reason in itself to celebrate!

Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...