Skip to main content

hiking the pipeline

yesterday, after church, we decided to take advantage of the nice weather and go for a hike on the pipeline trail. it’s about a mile from our house, and not too terribly difficult. lots of ups and downs though. we saw horses on the trail, lots of dogs, and tons of people. it’s a popular spot. we kind of just kept going, to see how far the kids wanted to go. they decided they wanted to go all the way into town, so that’s where we went. there’s a tully’s just down the road from where the trail crosses the main road, so we stopped there and sat down for a while over coffee and hot chocolate. then we turned around and headed back up and over.

005 006007009010 along the sidewalk near the tully’s I spotted little patches that looked like this! little green leaves from bulbs (probably daffodils or crocuses) poking through the dirt. LOVE it! spring WILL come!

011 the old hollywood schoolhouse is right across the intersection from the tully’s. layla wanted me to take her picture there. (I guess this is her ‘dancing on the edge of the hollywood sign’.)

the first hill back up is brutal. it’s known as heart attack or cardiac hill. we had the brilliant idea to search out geocaches on the way back. that gave the little kids (who were a little whiny) something to distract them.012 the sky was all kinds of crazy cool.019020 totally awesome with the olympics off in the distance.

some various caches we found. layla wanted to write her name in every one.014015017021022we were about to give up on this one when I spotted it:029 a weird selfie with the sun shining through my ear. nice.023026 the final stretch. those are the cascades off in the distance. totally awesome when you can look one direction and see one mountain range, then turn around and see the other one. love it!

total we did about 6.4 miles. layla did it all on foot. micah did about half, and then half in the backpack. my legs are a little sore today, but not bad.

dave and I have plans to actually do the WHOLE pipeline trail one day. either just us, or us and shane.

not sure of the actual mileage on it, because it there are a few places it jogs off and you have to pick it up on the other side of a freeway or something. but we could do it in a day. can’t wait!

Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

what I wore wednesday

iiiiiiiiiiiiiit’s wednesday again!!! which means it’s time for me to brag about all of my incredibly well-thought out and likely expensive fashion endeavors prove to the world that I didn’t wear jammies all week. well, not all week… wednesday: tank: old navy, thrifted cardigan: handmedown jeans: thrifted flip flops: kohls earrings: target scarf: thrifted I was SO excited to find this scarf! it’s gorgeous! very silvery and shimmery, the blue flowers and so cute, AND it’s short! for somebody like me, who is of the not-so-tall persuasion, really long scarfs (or even standard length scarfs) can sometimes be a little overwhelming. you know? it’s like, “how many times can I wrap this thing around my neck before you can’t see my head anymore?” at any rate, this one is awesome and I love it and expect to see it on me a lot! I also found the process of trying to take a picture to be quite entertaining. I have a ‘people dog’, meaning, wherever her people are, that is where she th...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

i need a fire extinguisher!

metaphorically speaking. my children are driving me nuts.  completely batty!  and i don’t mean that they annoy me.  well, sometimes they do, but that’s the least of my concerns.  i’m genuinely concerned about them.  why? they’re horrible! they fight: pinching, hitting, kicking, pushing, etc. etc. they tattle on each other. they don’t listen AT ALL to us. they complain and throw a fit when asked to do something totally reasonable.  it’s awful! i have yet to find some sort of effective discipline measure that will make any sort of improvement.  but this is only the day to day.  this is the least of my concerns. why? because these are just symptoms. these are the little fires that flare up all day long. i feel like i spend my day stomping them out.  one after another, often the exact same fire i just finished stomping out 5 minutes before!  but there’s this raging inferno all around us and as long as that’s burning, there’s nothin...