Skip to main content

weeks 17 and 18 in pictures

easter sunday:011

the kids dressed up. shane thought it was torture that I made him wear khakis, but I was thrilled that layla got two years out of this dress!

and then I made a 8x10 collage our little gathering that afternoon w/ my parents.2011-04-24

monday: 028

layla got a hula hoop ‘in’ her easter basket, of course, shane had to try it out. he’s pretty good.

tuesday:034

micah got a watering can in his easter basket, and was going around pretending to water stuff. layla did some quick thinking and ran to grab the remains of her ‘flower’ costume from two halloweens ago. hilarious!

wednesday:059

wednesday morning, micah and I walked layla to the bus, then walked back and discovered that we were locked out. I hadn’t even brought my phone. so I spent the morning across the street at my VERY kind neighbors’ house attempting to call people (I don’t know ANYONE’s phone numbers). I called dave (who thought I was a prank caller) and he eventually was able to get ahold of one of the landlords who came and let me in. at any rate, I spent the rest of the morning having spare keys made!

thursday:013

I caught these two snuggled up looking through a library book about dogs together!

friday:014

hello florida!!! we arrived late in the evening. these are the 7 ladies who went along. and then there were ‘the babies’, AKA, my niece melissa and her friend.

saturday:2011-04-30

this is what was going on back home. layla had tball, then they went to home depot and bought a new lawn mower, and some paint. dave surprised me by painting our bedroom while I was away. layla fell asleep in the chair w/ toby and stayed put for like 2.5 hours.

meanwhile:2011-04-301

I was living it up in paradise! loving the beach and the warm weather. OH MY!

sunday:2011-05-01

so I guess the weather was nice here too… dave took the kids to the park, let them help him paint closet doors, and conspired with layla to leave a may day ‘flower’ for a neighbor who would not go inside!

meanwhile:2011-05-011

another beach adventure for us, as well as a trip into downtown ft. myers at night to find a place to do some partying.

monday:055

layla at the bus stop. guess the nice weather didn’t last. dave sent me this picture while I was on the beach. it was hard to feel sorry for him. Winking smile 

meanwhile:2011-05-02

we headed over to sanibel island, and burnt ourselves crispy at yet another beach. tina, who had been there before, said we HAD to have lunch at ‘cheeburger cheeburger’, and it was SO yummy. after stuffing ourselves, we did some souvenir shopping, then headed back and FINALLY checked out one of the pools in the complex.

tuesday:IMG_3556

my SIL mary and me, just before I had to leave for the airport. sniff sniff…

wednesday:081

the weather was kind enough to be nice for me back at home my first day back to reality. I don’t think I could have handled rain. micah and layla enjoyed a popsicle on the back deck in the sun.

thursday:018

after watching shane practice his trumpet, micah decided he needed to, too!

friday:002

micah had been eating his raisin bran like a dog, and when I tried to take a picture, he got all mad and told me he wouldn’t do it anymore because he didn’t want me to take a picture. he was in a MOOD that day. wound up taking a nap. shane spent the day helping my dad w/ a plant sale at the church, which turned into helping the custodian empty garbage cans and haul stuff and other such stuff that shane LOVES, he also became a human jungle gym for the preschool kids. I may have him write a little description of is day, if he’ll oblige me.

saturday:

I have no picture. boo. layla had tball, followed by team pictures, the base-a-thon, and attempting to drop her coach in the dunk tank. I had left my camera in the car and tried to take some pics w/ dave’s iphone. they all turned out terrible, so I think I’ll have her draw something for saturday.

so THERE are my last two weeks!

Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

what I wore wednesday

iiiiiiiiiiiiiit’s wednesday again!!! which means it’s time for me to brag about all of my incredibly well-thought out and likely expensive fashion endeavors prove to the world that I didn’t wear jammies all week. well, not all week… wednesday: tank: old navy, thrifted cardigan: handmedown jeans: thrifted flip flops: kohls earrings: target scarf: thrifted I was SO excited to find this scarf! it’s gorgeous! very silvery and shimmery, the blue flowers and so cute, AND it’s short! for somebody like me, who is of the not-so-tall persuasion, really long scarfs (or even standard length scarfs) can sometimes be a little overwhelming. you know? it’s like, “how many times can I wrap this thing around my neck before you can’t see my head anymore?” at any rate, this one is awesome and I love it and expect to see it on me a lot! I also found the process of trying to take a picture to be quite entertaining. I have a ‘people dog’, meaning, wherever her people are, that is where she th...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

i need a fire extinguisher!

metaphorically speaking. my children are driving me nuts.  completely batty!  and i don’t mean that they annoy me.  well, sometimes they do, but that’s the least of my concerns.  i’m genuinely concerned about them.  why? they’re horrible! they fight: pinching, hitting, kicking, pushing, etc. etc. they tattle on each other. they don’t listen AT ALL to us. they complain and throw a fit when asked to do something totally reasonable.  it’s awful! i have yet to find some sort of effective discipline measure that will make any sort of improvement.  but this is only the day to day.  this is the least of my concerns. why? because these are just symptoms. these are the little fires that flare up all day long. i feel like i spend my day stomping them out.  one after another, often the exact same fire i just finished stomping out 5 minutes before!  but there’s this raging inferno all around us and as long as that’s burning, there’s nothin...