Skip to main content

just call me cinder*bleepin*rella!

hopefully you recognize that as a pretty woman reference, and don’t just think I’m being profane.

I know I should be packing and cleaning and tackling all of the 400 things on my to do list today, but I just have to take a quick break to write this down. I just had the most hilarious experience. I’m still chuckling.

about a year ago (give or take) one of my pearl earrings popped off its post. I have no idea why. I just opened the box one day and instead of being attached, it was not. so I’ve been meaning to get it fixed for awhile, but I’m a procrastinator. this would require actually DOING something about it. or worse, making phone calls.

dave and I are leaving tomorrow at o dark thirty for california, and I really wanted to be able to wear my pearl necklace (and earrings) to the wedding.

so I bit the bullet this morning, and called marci jewelry in bellevue, because that’s where the box says they’re from. (they were a graduation present a million years ago, which is why I have to rely on the box to tell me where they’re from.) so I called and explained the situation to the guy on the phone. he said he could fix them. he could fix them on the spot. and it would be FREE, because they were from that store.

seriously. why do I do this. so many times, when I get around to doing something I should have done years ago, it’s the most painless experience EVER, and I can’t figure out why I’ve been putting it off. some day I’ll learn, right?

so anyway, I grabbed the earrings, and micah, and jumped in the car to drive off to bellevue and get this taken care of before layla got out of school.

this is where it gets funny.

I parked my dirty minivan in the parking lot, grabbed micah and walked in.

I immediately felt underdressed.

severely underdressed.

so there I am, with my 3 year old, feeling very much like julia roberts in pretty woman when she goes into the first shop on rodeo drive.

well, except for the being dressed like a hooker part. unless hookers now wear warm up pants and ratty old college sweatshirts.

it’s not even that I was not looking up to snuff for bellevue jewelry store standards. I’m not even looking good for ME, and I don’t have very high standards! my jeans are all in the wash, I grabbed a sweatshirt out of the clean laundry pile that is on my bed. it happened to be oldest sweatshirt I own. it has holes and paint and numerous coffee stains on it. I washed my hair in a hurry this morning, before taking shane to band, and never got around to drying it. I did manage to put a bobby pin in it to keep my bangs out of my face, but that’s as much ‘personal grooming’ as I did this morning.

so I walk in and there’s a receptionist! I’ve never been in a store of any kind that has a receptionist! this lovely young woman was obviously well-dressed and well-groomed, and had more makeup on her face than I have collectively worn in my entire life! I had to chuckle. there was little else I could do.

BUT, she was very nice. she helped me right away, asked me how old micah was, asked me about my other children, etc. of course, my appearance has probably cured her of any desire she may have had to have her own children… the man, named john, whom I had talked to on the phone, was also very nice, and took care of my earrings right away. on the phone, he had said that I may have to wait 10 or 15 minutes for the glue to set, but instead, he brought them out to me, set in the box, and just told me not to wear them for 24 hours. I was in and out of there in 5 minutes.

I can’t help but wonder if they were so speedy because they didn’t want me in there any longer than absolutely necessary! LOL!

but based on my experience, how friendly they were, etc., I can definitely say that, should I ever happen to find myself in possession of enough money to afford anything in their store, I will definitely go back! I’ll just make sure to dress and groom myself appropriately!

Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...