Skip to main content

fevers and coughs and irritated bladders, oh my!

yes, i know it's summer. my kids don't seem to though, because it seems that they are still managing to get sick! yesterday layla started coughing like she was going to die and tonight i discovered that shane has a fever. joy. he said he woke up with a headache this morning so i gave him some motrin and he seemed to be better and did normal, lazy, summer stuff (mainly he watched tv, took a really long time doing his chores, and picked on his sister) until wyatt got home and then he went over there and played for awhile. he came home saying he was really cold and i told him to put on a sweatshirt - it's not a particularly nice day. before dinner he said his headache was back and he was particularly unwilling to get up off the couch to come eat. when he finally did get there, he said he felt fine, other than the headache, but he was freezing and he had that kind of doped up look to his eyes so i figured i ought to take his temperature. 101.3. oops. i guess he's sick.

layla doesn't seem too bad today, but i did learn something very interesting and hopefully helpful today. last week i took her to the dr. to find out what's up with her urinary problems. she leaks, she has accidents over and over again, she'll pee like 5 times in an hour, etc. etc. so they wanted a sample which came back fine so the dr. referred us to a pediatric urologist. i called today to try and get and appointment and was told that i had to talk to the nurse first - so i left a message. they guy called me back rather promptly and i told him why we'd been referred there. he told me that they don't see kids for wetting problems until they're at least 5 or 6 and before that they don't consider it anything more than potty training issues. great. but he didn't totally dismiss me and was giving me some pointers on things i should do to help her since he said it sounded like she was developing a 'dysfunctional voiding pattern'. wow. don't want that! basically, she has to pee every 3 hours during the day, even if she goes in between then. still, every 3 hours she's on the pot. then i asked him if i was crazy or if there could be a connection with stuff she drinks or eats? i've noticed that it seems to be a lot worse after she's had juice. she pees like crazy all day long. and he said, that no, i'm not crazy, that's actually a really big thing. he asked if she drank apple juice and orange juice. well, duh. he said that those juices are most likely irritating her bladder which is causing her to have to pee lots and not be able to control it very well. he said there were other foods that can cause this too and he emailed me a list of foods that commonly irritate the bladder. apple juice was the first one on the list. apples, grapes, canteloupe, strawberries, pineapple, citrus fruits and juices, chocolate, tomatoes and tomato sauces, caffeinated or carbonated drinks, vitamin c, pickles spicy foods and artificial sweeteners can all cause bladder irritation. who knew? so we're supposed to avoid all these things for 2 weeks and if she does better, then we're supposed to add things back 1 at a time to see if she reacts. just like checking for an allergy. this ought to be fun considering layla's fruits of choice are apples, grapes and strawberries. i think that will be the biggest problem there. i don't let her have soda, so that's not an issue, same with artificial sweeteners, she doesn't like pickles or spicy food. the juice thing will probably be a little bit of an issue, but it'll be just one more thing to be mean about. not sure what to do about pizza either... but i'm so excited that this might be the cause of her problem. now if we can just find what foods are causing her skin issues and shane's attention and learning issues.

Comments

  1. I'm telling you, the natureopath is the way to go. They run blood tests on all that stuff. Glutin is a huge one for things like attention and learning issues. Also artificial sweeteners AND colors, including the yellow they put in cheddar cheese! I had a friend whose son was severly ADHD and she was able to control it with his diet. And Glutin is in EVERYTHING! That I learned with Mackenzie's issues. Food, I'm telling you!

    ReplyDelete
  2. i know! i'[m thinking of trying the feingold diet. so where did you find this natureopath? and does insurance cover it?

    ReplyDelete
  3. My sister made the appointment for the one I went to (in Marysville, it's called the Center for Optimal Health) As for insurance, unfortunately most don't cover it, but mine did cover the blood test (they send that to the hospital in Everett) and his office visit charge isn't bad.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

all comments are moderated. unkind comments will be deleted.

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...