Skip to main content

smoothie-crazy!

I’ve always been into smoothies. but I kind of go in phases with them. there will be times that I have the ALL THE TIME, and then other times when I’ve forgotten about them and don’t have them at all. right now, I’m on a major smoothie kick. I was reminded of their sweet, wonderful yumminess a while back when I read a post on the pioneer woman’s site about smoothies. of course, she’s all photography-savvy and has a clean kitchen and whatnot, and I don’t, but this is my take on smoothies. actually, it’s just today’s take on smoothies. it changes daily, depending on what I have on hand or what I’m in the mood for. as you’ll notice, it’s also a shameless plug for my 3rd favorite kitchen appliance. (the first being my coffeemaker, obviously, and the second being my coffee grinder.)

so today’s smoothie consisted of the segments of 1 clementine (I have a 5 lb. box that I need to use up before they are not so good… plus, I figure the vitamin c will not hurt me any.), a BUNCH of frozen raspberries (these are from my garden last year. my freezer has been FULL of them all year. I’m now down to my last two containers of them. can’t wait for this year’s!), some frozen blueberries (I’m out of my stash that came from my dad’s bushes, so now I have to buy them.), and some frozen blackberries. I was going to throw in a couple frozen strawberries, but I ran out of room due to my excitement about the raspberries… it happens. you should see me make a taco.032

you can use whatever fruit you like and/or have on hand. if your fruit is all fresh, you may want to throw in a few ice cubes to get that frozen thing going on, but you don’t have to.

then I pour in some milk. as you can see from this picture, I am SO NOT the pioneer woman. oh well. you get the point…033

about this much:

034

actually, it probably should have been a little more. just a tad on the thick side. but I’d rather have it too thick than too thin. I’m so picky! sometimes I use orange juice instead of milk, and I’ve also been known to use soy milk if I’ve got any of that. whatever you like!

and then I spoon in some yogurt. I grabbed a strawberry today – to make up for the strawberries I didn’t have room for. as you can see, I barely have room for the yogurt, but it’s all good. only once have I had this overfilling thing backfire on me… usually, I use vanilla, and usually I buy it in the big containers to save on $$ and packaging… but I’m out of that.035

now, at this point, you could add any number of ‘additives’ that you’d like. vitamin or protein powder, milled flax seed, what have you. I usually just keep it straight up fruit and yogurt, plus some liquid.

now here’s where the plug starts: I’m using my magic bullet to make this. I used to use a blender. I have a great blender. it’s red. (no, that’s not why it’s great, it’s just a bonus.) my blender has been in a cupboard since the day I got the magic bullet, 3 years ago. I should probably just get rid of it. but it’s red. I got the bullet to make baby food. it was awesome for that. now I use it to make mommy food! and the occasional margarita… oh wait…

anyway, you screw the mixer onto the top of your cup:037

you stick it on the bullet:

038

you press down, turn slightly to get it to lock into position, freeing your hands to take a picture of your cluttered, not very clean kitchen:039

and watch your smoothie mix!

040

when it’s mixed satisfactorily (because this one was kind a thick, I pulled it off and gave it a shake once or twice before mixing some more), you take it off, flip it over:041

and unscrew the mixer:042

then you lick the mixer to get all the yummy smoothie off rinse off the mixer:043

and (here’s the best part) PUT IT IN THE DISHWASHER!044

*intermission for blatant plugging*

this is the main reason I LOVE the magic bullet so much. yes, I can put my blender in the dishwasher too, but it’s just a huge (literally) deal to use. big, heavy, clunky, etc. all good signs of a quality blender… but a pain in the butt for every day, personal use. I tried making baby food in my blender a few times and I hated it. it worked okay, but unless you’re making a whole blender-full, it just seemed to be not really worth the effort. when you’re just making a little, it seemed like more of it was stuck to the sides and bottom of the blender than you got out of it. and trying to scrape it all out from under and around the blades is a pain. washing it is a pain too. my SIL, mary, the fountain from which all good ideas seem to spring, turned me on to the magic bullet. my first reaction was, “are you serious?” I mean, hello? they sell them on infomercials! stuff they sell on infomercials is crap, isn’t it? but then she told me about the baby food aspect and I checked it out a little. yes, I watched the infomercials. and you know what? I was intrigued. I wanted one. so I got one. and you know what else? I LOVE IT! it’s so awesome. I have no idea if it is everything they claim it is. I don’t use it to mix my eggs and grind my coffee and make my salsa. but I do use it almost every day and it has not let me down yet. here is a little run-down of why I love it so much:

  • it is small. it makes personal-sized servings.
  • the mixing blades are not stuck down at the bottom of a narrow tube, where they are hard to get at to clean.
  • it goes in the dishwasher.
  • you can serve your concoction directly out of the thing you mixed it in, not having to dirty another cup or bowl.
  • it is awesome for making baby food – either small amounts or more (to then freeze in ice cube trays).
  • it comes with multiple cups so you can make a bunch of drinks or just one.

*you may now continue with your regularly scheduled blog post reading*

then, because I have a smoothie-loving young one, I pour a little into a straw cup to share with him:

 045

get myself a big, fat straw:

046

and enjoy! smoothies are SO ideal for non-breakfast eaters like me who don’t want food in the morning (just coffee), but get a little shaky because, let’s face it, you need a little more sustenance than the creamer in your coffee can provide.

oh, and fyi (in case this is a concern of yours), it is possible to ingest your smoothie and play mario kart at the same time:047

awesome!

Comments

  1. I, too, am fascinated by the Magic Bullet. We had a hand-blender (one of those immersion wand type blenders) from Kitchen Aid that I love forever but the motor just recently gave out. Smoothies are my favorites as well and I think this would be brilliant for baby food when the time comes. Maybe I can talk Mike into letting me order something off the TV???

    ReplyDelete
  2. I love that you can get them pretty much anywhere. I saw them at either Target or Walmart the other day. Most recenly I use mine to puree onions before putting them into anything because Lily freaks out if she see a "chunk" in anything. I have used it to grind cinnamon sticks when I run out of the ground stuff too. We made some delish green salsa with it last month. The uses are endless.
    I have an issue with overfilling too. I tried the blender attachment and ran into some issues with it. Don't know if it was user error or if it is a faulty design.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

all comments are moderated. unkind comments will be deleted.

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...