Skip to main content

what I wore wednesday

so… here we go again! another week, another series of outfits that attempt to look cute, coordinate, and not be jammies or sweats. it’s starting to act like fall around here. chilly in the morning, foggy, warming up to the low 70’s by afternoon. except yesterday. I think we topped out at 65 and it was FREEZING! at any rate, that means I’m starting to reach for more layers, long sleeves, and my skirts and capris are being replaced by a boring, 9 month long onslaught of long pants… but the good news about all of that is that I dug out my uggs for the first time today! woohoo! I have warm, toasty, comfy feet right now… the bad news is that you can pretty much plug those into any picture I take of my outfits from here until next may. it’s a win-lose situation. I think I’ve covered every day except saturday. I did get dressed… and I had a picture, but it was horrible, and after looking at it, I can’t believe I went out in public with my hair looking like that! at any rate, I am going to do my best to forget that saturday happened.

wednesday:

016

yes, I’m headless. I hadn’t done my makeup yet, so I figured I’d just NOT take a picture of my head. LOL!

  • tunic sweater: old navy, thrifted
  • tank: j crew, thrifted
  • capris: levis, via handmedown, via personal alteration
  • necklace: target
  • shoes?

pretty sure I wore shoes that day, just can’t remember which ones. I’m sure they were black, sandal types.

thursday:

 034

  • top: american eagle, thrifted
  • cami: thrifted
  • jeans: handmedown
  • jewelry: walmart and ???

044021

and I even painted my toenails to match!050

friday:

065

it felt so much like fall on friday that I dug out my corduroy pants!

  • top: express, thrifted
  • cords: old navy, thrifted
  • necklace: 1928

054

sunday:

      080

I’ve been waiting for it to get to be ‘fall-ish’ enough to pull out this dress. I LOVE THIS DRESS. love it. the deep eggplant color, the bell-shaped sleeves, the pleated satin sash… LOVE! and we were even in a picturesque location when I was wearing it, too! of course, I posed for all of like .5 seconds before I had to start directing my kids to stop running away, leave the ducks alone, not to fall in the water, etc… I’m so demanding. my husband had the camera and was apparently having fun with the whole situation… 081 083

I’m pretty sure that last picture can be captioned, “have you taken any pictures yet?” he just laughed. the rundown:

  • dress: express
  • cami: target
  • shoes: born
  • footless tights: pretty sure these are left over from my dancing and/or skating days so… probably danskin or baryshnikov. dance tights are THE best. I have a hard time wearing any ‘normal’ tights. they always fall down or roll over at the waist, giving you a spare tire you didn’t really have to begin with… NOT flattering! there, that’s your fashion tip of the day. stop buying your tights at target. go into a dance shop and stock up. you’ll thank me.
  • jewelry: my famous pearls that I love.

monday:

 089

you can go ahead and disregard the “okay, go ahead and take the stupid picture so we can get out of here” look. this is what happens when I have my almost 5 year old take my pictures… first of all, I was in a little bit of a panic that he was going to drop the camera on the driveway, and secondly, I just wanted to leave. note the arm load of ‘mom junk’ I’ve got going on… other than my water bottle, I’m not even sure what I’m carrying, but I know it was getting awkward to hang onto.

tuesday:

090

first of all, I’m totally ticked about this picture. this was my favorite outfit all week (well, maybe second favorite), and it’s the worst picture. I never had a chance, and this was taken, by my amateurest photographer (again) at sunset. so I look all yellow and the flash went off because it’s too dark and blah blah blah… at any rate…

  • jacket: h&m, thrifted
  • top: handmedown
  • jeans: gap, thrifted
  • earrings: target
  • keys and plastic bag: just a bonus! ;)

so there you have it… linking up 2 places again this week! you should totally join me. at least check some of these out. good inspiration!

wiwwWWbutton

Comments

  1. I like Thursday's outfit the best, but Sunday's dress is pretty cool, too!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

all comments are moderated. unkind comments will be deleted.

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...