Skip to main content

what’s in my closet? installment #12 – ???

but the real question remains…

what do I REALLY wear?

well, I’m ashamed to admit it, but most days, especially in the winter, you can find me in a hoodie.

it’s really pathetic, because most of these aren’t even decent hoodies. maybe they were at one time, but they are certainly not now. of course, I’m not downing on a good hoodie. there’s a reason I live in these. I love them. they’re super comfy and warm… it’s like the clothing version of a nice cup of tea…

however.

it is obvious that I really need to pare down here…

053

  1. EWU sweatshirt (EWU bookstore): yes, I’ve had this since I actually attended EWU. I left EWU in 1999, and I know I’d had it a year or two at that point… ahem. it has holes and stains. and it’s a size large. what was I thinking? I’m 5’1. I swim in it. sorry eagles, it’s got to go.
  2. trinity sweatshirt (trinity bookstore): detecting a theme? I think so. this isn’t in terrible shape. it’s presentable. not nice, but can be worn in public without embarrassing anyone.
  3. wall drug sweatshirt (wall drug, south dakota): yup. this sweatshirt is a souvenir from the world’s largest drug store. honestly, it’s one of my favorites, so it stays.

and then…054

  1. seattle mariners sweatshirt (gift from dave): my husband should pick out all of my clothes. I always like the stuff he gets me. I like this sweatshirt because of the way it fits. it’s one of the ‘girlie’ sweatshirts, so it’s a little more fitted, and less dumpy. a feminine hoodie! what’s not to love?
  2. lilac concordia sweatshirt (concordia st. paul bookstore): I used to love this sweatshirt. now it is dirty, stained, holey, threadbare, has bleach and paint spots on it, and is a general disgrace. it cannot be worn in public. I learned my lesson about that back in february during a certain encounter at a jewelry store. I have since relegated it to the ‘outdoor work clothes’ department.
  3. commuter student sweatshirt (trinity): I really don’t like this sweatshirt. I keep it because it’s from school and blah blah blah… yeah, it’s going.

this was kind of hard to come clean about. in the wintertime, a pair of jeans and a comfy hoodie is perfect for me. warm, washable… but boring. talk about stuck in a rut. I am forcing myself out of this rut. forcing. maybe I’ll only allow myself to wear hoodies on saturdays or something…

so there you go. that’s it. that’s ‘what’s in my closet’. yeah, I have some jammie pants and some t-shirts I sleep in. I have a couple pairs of workout pants, and an old pair of jeans I wear out in the yard… but that’s not worth photographing. we all have that sort of thing, and we need to have that sort of thing. I’m just tired of LIVING in that sort of thing. while lounging is cozy and comfortable, if I’m honest with myself, I feel better, I act better, I’m a better wife, mother, person, if I take the time and bother to get dressed in something that looks nice. I’m more apt to leave the house and take care of what I need to take care of. I’m more apt to meet friends socially. a mom in nice clothes demands more respect than a mom in sweats and a hoodie. it’s true.

thank you for indulging me though this little trip into the depths of my closet. I’m sure it hasn’t been as much fun or as therapeutic for you as it has been for me, but it’s been fun, and has really helped me come to terms with all the crap I’ve been hanging onto for no good reason. so thanks! I look forward to updating with new items I pick up from time to time as well!

and no, dave, I will not be pulling all my socks and underwear out of the drawer and photographing them! you’ll have to trust me on this. I have them. I try to throw them out when they get holes. end of story.

Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...