Skip to main content

what’s in my closet? installment #11 - shoes!!

okay, I know you’re super excited about this one! okay, well I am, at least. yes, I have too many shoes. most of them I don’t wear very often, if at all. time to weed through.

first picture – dress shoes:055

  1. red patent t-strap heels (payless): got these shoes to wear with the black dress. they look fabulous and were a ton of fun to wear… for about 5 minutes. they are terribly uncomfortable. I’m keeping them because there might be some function that I could wear them to that I could suffer through for the cuteness factor. oh how I wish I could afford to buy comfortable red patent t-strap heels to replace them!
  2. white strappy heels (payless): I actually got married in these shoes. I have kept them to wear with nice dresses in the summer time. haven’t worn them in awhile. if I don’t find myself wearing them this summer, I’m going to get rid of them. so there, they have a deadline.
  3. black strappy heels (payless): I’ve had these forever. black dress shoes seem to be something you should have, although I haven’t worn them much lately. maybe I’ll give them a year, and if I don’t wear them, they’re gone.
  4. silver-ish mary jane peep-toe pumps (ross): LOVE these shoes. love everything about them.

second picture – sandals:057

  1. brown strappy sandals (???): I’ve had these forever. they don’t look as bad on as they do sitting there. they are a little worn, but not as bad as all that. still, they may be past their hay day.
  2. green suede birkenstocks (nordstrom): I will never get rid of these. I bought these my junior year of high school. I rarely wear them anymore, but I still love them. not having them would be like ripping out my inner hippy and that would be too painful. they’re on their second set of soles. I will always love these.
  3. blue birkenstocks (birkenstock outlet): these, however, I am not in love with, and will be happy to get rid of.

third picture – flip flops:058

  1. black rubber flip flops(kohls): these are pretty basic, will probably be toast after this summer.
  2. blue flip flops(kohls): these are a little nicer, I like them a lot, but are probably heading into their last year.
  3. black/silver flip flops (kohls): again, this is probably their last year.
  4. brown flip flops (kohls): these had their last year about 2 years ago… gone.

fourth picture - other shoes:059

  1. black saltwater sandals (nordstrom): these should have been in the sandal picture, but I forgot about them. I think these are really fun and people comment on the all the time when I wear them.
  2. black dressy-ish shoes (ross): these are okay, but now that I have my new black flats, and as soon as I get my black boots fixed, they are redundant and I will be getting rid of them.
  3. black sketchers (ross?): these were good shoes and served their purpose, but I don’t like them anymore. too clunky. I had been searching for a pair of shoes to replace them, and finally got them, so they are on their way out.

fifth picture – my every day shoes = these are the shoes you can typically find me wearing (if it’s not summer or the dead of winter):060

  1. navy converse (fred meyer): love these. I had a pair of these in college that I wore to death.
  2. nike trailrunners (nike outlet): these are my current athletic shoes. last year, I finally came to terms with the fact that I was going to have to replace my ‘honeymoon shoes’. on our way out of town after our wedding, dave and I stopped at the nike outlet, and we each got a pair of shoes. mine were similar to these, and I loved them. but I had finally worn them completely smooth on the bottom and they would actually slip on the pedals sometimes when I was driving. not a good idea. these are ALMOST as good as those, but not quite.
  3. black born mary jane flats (ebay): just got these. I like them, but there’s a little breaking in issue involving the knuckles of my big toe. hard to explain, but as they’re leather, if it doesn’t resolve itself soon, I’ll take them to a shoe repair shop and see if they can’t stretch that area just a tad for me. they are very cute, and in all other respects, absolutely perfect.
  4. brown born flats (nordstrom): LOVE these shoes. I had been on a LONG search for new brown shoes and when I found these, heaven opened and angels sang! I get comments on these shoes all the time. they are the best, most comfortable shoes I’ve ever owned. did I mention that I love them?

sixth picture – boots:061

  1. tall black boots (famous footwear): I love these boots. they are awesome with dresses, skirts, jeans, dress pants, everything! I need to take them in to get fixed though, because the little plastic piece on the bottom of one heel broke off and I don’t want to ruin the heel clomping around on it.
  2. chestnut short uggs (nordstrom – via dave): I got these for valentine’s day 2 years ago. I had been wanting some forever and I was SO excited. they need to be cleaned and waterproofed again, but I love them. I wear them all winter long. there is nothing as cozy as a pair of uggs. I never, EVER want to be without a pair of these.

so there are my shoes. goodness that was fun! I like shoes.

Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...