Skip to main content

“you should have your head examined!”

… i just did!

yup, yesterday i had the thrilling experience of sitting in a hospital waiting room for 2 hours, followed by another in a trauma room.  no, i don’t think i had suffered any sort of major trauma – i think that’s just what room they had left to stick me in.  i mused about where we would go if they had to kick us out because a ‘real’ trauma situation arose.  thankfully, we didn’t have to learn the answer to that.  i guess i was a traumatic as it got during that window of time.

backing up, i wound up in the hospital yesterday because micah threw some clothes on the ground.  the night before i had been folding laundry in the living room.  i had a couple of stacks of ‘hang up’ clothes that were draped over the baby gate in front of the fireplace.                         Picture 113yes, it’s a christmas picture, but i knew i had it in my stash.  at any rate, there’s the ugly baby gate that the clothes were hanging on.  also notice the wood mantle above it that the nativity set is on.  you can’t tell in the picture, but it’s actually quite pointy.  as in, it’s widest at the top and then tapers in toward the bricks of the hearth.

at any rate, micah knocked the clothes off the gate (of course, pushing them over the  back so they were on the floor by the fireplace and down with all the nasty sooty fireplace tools.  so i went to retrieve them.  i stood by the gate and bent over to pick them up but somehow managed to smack my forehead on the edge of the mantle on the way down. 

yes, i realize that sounds incredibly stupid.  you wouldn’t think that one could actually injure oneself in that manner, but apparently, one can… at least i can.

when i hit it, i totally could hear my teeth rattling around in my head, and i stumbled backwards. i felt like someone had punched me in the stomach and i was afraid i might throw up.  sweet little layla wanted to kiss my owie for me, but i was having none of it. 

my dad showed up a few minutes later because he was going to watch the kids for me while i went to do some cleaning at their house, but i told him i was afraid to drive for a little while yet.  i still felt very dizzy and nauseous.  it was totally like i was in a fog and VERY slow.  i couldn’t type very well or complete a sentence without a lot of UUUHHH’s and UUUMMMM’s. then the roof of my mouth and the front of my face started tingling, and later, my hands. 

he called my mom to tell her that i wasn’t going to come just yet and he was going to stay with me.  she, of course, freaked out and told me to call the doctor.  i did, and they told me to go to the ER.  GREAT!!!! just what i wanted to do.  thanks mom!

so anyway, by the time i was actually seen by the doctor, i was feeling a lot more normal, but they made me go through a neurological test (similar to a drunk driving test) with a lot of pointing to my nose and flipping my hands over back and forth and walking in a straight line.  that was fun.  he said i could have a CT scan just to be on the safe side, but he was comfortable with me not having one, so i opted not to. (oh, and i DID pass the neurological test, in case you were worried.)

i do have to say that i stayed up VERY late last night, even though i was feeling fine.  i watched a lot of ‘what not to wear’ and cleaned the kitchen and dining room floors on my hands and knees with a rag.  i think i finally managed to go to sleep around 2am, and since i’m sitting here typing, i guess i woke up… that is, unless heaven looks very much like my house, has a computer, and dirty dishes.  no, it couldn’t be.  there’s still ugly green carpet in the livingroom and i can’t imagine God would put up with that.  then again, there’s coffee, so i suppose it could be… you never know!

Comments

  1. Thanks for clearing that up for us! Glad to hear you're okay.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Ok, this totally sounds like something that would happen to me.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

all comments are moderated. unkind comments will be deleted.

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...