Skip to main content

chirping birds and daffodils and grass, oh my!

spring is officially here now.  by the calendar and by the weather.  well, there was still frost on the ground yesterday morning.

i love spring.  it’s like the grandest reward for surviving winter.  i always said that summer was my favorite season, because i like warm weather… but dave called me on it a few years ago.  he pointed out that, even though i thought summer was my favorite season, i was wrong.

i get so excited when, still in the bleakness of winter, the daffodils start poking their green stubby leaves through the frozen ground.  even though, at that time, everything is still cold and seemingly dead – even getting snowed on – there’s hope!  another cycle of seasons is beginning and spring really is coming.

this is the time of year that i’m most likely to be involved in a traffic accident, i think.  i’m always pointing out things to my kids as we drive along.  “oh look! look at all that green!” or “OOOHHHH, that tree has flowers on it already!”

as i look out the window next to me, i can see my neighbor’s thundercloud and the branches are fringed in reddish-pink and i’m just waiting or that first pink blossom to burst open. i know it’s coming.  beyond that, there’s a cluster of bare-branched trees that seems to be polka-dotted from where i sit.  i know that those polka-dots will soon be leaves of a vibrant, neon green that only looks good on trees.  i can also see that it’s time to mow the lawn and bust out the weed whacker.  there’s a cluster of tiny little white flowers growing in the grass and i know the dandelions aren’t far behind, thus beginning my annual declaration of the most futile war known to man.  i had to open the window a few minutes ago, just so i could listen to the birds.  what an incredibly happy sound.

spring also brings baseball season!  go mariners!  i think the return of griffey to seattle is a good thing for us… we needed something that will sell tickets.  i’m still skeptical that he’ll stay healthy to play all year, but we can hope.  if nothing else, it’ll be great to see #24 back in the outfield.

this doesn’t really feel conclusive, but it’s time for this post to be done.  i have other things to do.  happy spring everyone!

Comments

  1. I agree! Spring is great! Especially this year, when the big boys are getting old enough to ask questions about why plants grow and help out in the flower garden, and hopefully help plant a veggie garden.

    BTW... The Cutest Blog on the Block has a new layout with a John Deere on it... made me think of Shane. :)

    Have a great day!

    ReplyDelete
  2. As much as I agree about Griffey selling tickets and it being a good thing, I have issues with him, so I'm kind of "meh" about the whole thing.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

all comments are moderated. unkind comments will be deleted.

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...