Skip to main content

follow ups

first of all, i'm happy to report that we have officially 'won' the rights to assemble at tully's between aprox. 9:50 and 10:35am on sunday mornings. the last few times we've been there and the 'cranky old lady' was there, she packed up and left as soon as we arrived. woo hoo! i feel like i'm in some 1950's high school gang and we've established our 'turf'. at any rate, life is much more pleasant when you can enjoy your heathen coffee without the fear of being yelled at if your children happen to be acting like children.

next, micah's potty usage is going well, but has taken an unexpected turn. last night (and by last night i mean the night i'm currently in, since it isn't yet 6am and we've been awake for an hour and a half or more), he apparently decided that he wanted to use the potty in the night. not really what i had planned. of course i could be overthinking this and just assuming erroneously that that's what he wanted. but when he woke up to eat sometime in the 1:00 hour, i pulled him into bed and tried to feed him but he was doing this weird jumping up and down move and wouldn't eat. so i thought i maybe should change him. i brought him out to the living room and his diaper was barely wet. in the back of my head i was thinking that maybe he wanted to pee (since the books have indicated that babies will want to stay dry at night and i'm just wingin' it here) so i took him in to the bathroom and sat him on the potty. he immediately peed. i put a new diaper on him, brought him back to bed and he nursed like normal and fell back asleep. a few hours later, he woke up again (no, unfortunately this isn't an unusual occurance at this point), and i tried to feed him again, but he refused and did the jumping up and down thing again while fussing. so i obliged by taking him to the potty where he peed immediately again and then settled back down to nurse. only this time he must have figured it was time to be up because he didn't go back to sleep. grrr. not sure what to think here. but i caught 3 poops yesterday and most of his pees so i guess that's good. who knows. i'm just figuring it out here.

other updates... layla continues to be neurotic about pooping, but less so for dave (go figure). no one is currently puking (knock on wood), and my house is less of a mess than usual, but far from clean! ;-)

Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...