Skip to main content

2017–week 11

there are a lot of pictures this week, and i’m still figuring out how all of these are going to go in the book. i’m thinking there will definitely be an insert.

sunday: another meet.005006007

monday: i made micah super happy when i brought home a poster of all of the presidents of the usa for him to hang in his bedroom. he’s busy memorizing names, dates, etc.009

also monday: pinewood derby weigh-in in our garage, plus trophy assembly station. this is what it’s like to be married to the race commissioner. 010

tuesday: you can’t really see her, but layla is somewhere in this crowd of 6th grade musicians. we had a crazy evening of gymnastics, followed by band concert, while micah was at batting practice. people were going everywhere and nobody ate until 8pm. 013

but the exciting part of all of this is that, now that layla got her kip, she was allowed to get bar grips. so, still attired in concert clothes, she’s trying them out.             014

wednesday: after much frustration of trying to make sure everyone knows where everyone else is supposed to be and when, i resorted to the giant, color-coded calendar on the wall. 017

thursday: final pinewood weigh-in is tomorrow, so it was time to get micah’s car assembled. and this happened… some wood glue, a clamp, and a good paint job saved the day. but needless to say, this situation caused quite a bit of drama for micah, who had his heart set on winning the “best hot rod” category on sunday.

020

friday: this is the extent of my st. patrick’s day celebrating. i wore green, too.022

saturday: 7 am. yup, this is where we are. and why wouldn’t we be, considering we were there at 11 hours earlier.023

also saturday: documenting the weird foot prop toe thing dave does. it totally creeps me out.031

getting micah’s uniform ready for sunday’s meeting… yeah, those buttons have been off for over a year.032

once again, i want to be this cat.

033

after reading “officer buckle and gloria”, micah reminded me on my way out the door to lindsey’s of a very important safety tip: never stand on a swivel chair. it was so random that when i saw that lindsey had a swivel chair, i had to get a picture of me standing on it! LOL. 034

Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...