Skip to main content

a dose of daily life

just the average, every day…

dave and micah have quite the little bond going on right now. it’s very cute how ‘daddy’ oriented he’s become lately. he even sneaks in every night to snuggle up and sleep with him…007012017

yup. that’s his lap top.027

layla likes dogs. a lot. in fact, she wants to BE a dog. every day, she has a new scheme for how she will BE a dog. here, she took tupperware containers out of the drawer, and set up food and water bowls for everyone on the kitchen floor. then they drank out of them.037

another day, she made a dog bed for herself… in the shelving unit.022

the latest is that she wants to be a ‘working dog’, so she made herself a cape… I guess if she must be a dog, she may as well make herself useful…005

and then there’s micah, who stuck these foam square things on his face and declared himself to be a cat. (those are the whiskers.)003

and then he climbed into the cat crate. yes, he fit.010

of course, then everyone tried it.014

all shane could fit was his head.015

micah is OBSESSED with the wii. he is able to play most of the sports resort games independently. this is speed slice, but I think his favorite is table tennis, which he calls ‘tennis table’. pretty cute.009

layla and daddy rocking out!016

a MOMS club playdate at mcdonalds. and yes, layla’s tongue is hanging out because she is a dog. panting. in a kennel…026

this is what they took as an appropriate response to the instructions, “go get your jammies on.” layla, at least, has them on UNDER the ballerina costume… micah is apparently confused by the difference between sleepwear and swimwear. then they made the little couch into a pool and took turns diving into it.030

walking home from the bus…002

and the best find EVER, layla brought home another horse book from the school library this week. she had a different one last week and was sad to have to return it. I suggested she look where she found the first one, to see if they had any more. she was SO excited that they did, and there’s at least 2 more on the shelf! 004

I guess horses are on her list of favorite things right now, in addition to dogs. actually, she and shane have both been lobbying for riding lessons… not really seeing that in the budget any time soon.

Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...