Skip to main content

further purges…

okay, the rest of this week has been not quite as impressive as the earlier part, but there has been much in the way of nailing down times, places, prices, etc. I won’t go through my whole list again, because it’s long and most of the stuff on it was already blue, and therefore GONE. but several more things are gone and/or arranged, so I will report on those.

  1. cloth diapers, etc.: have arranged a meeting next friday afternoon!
  2. train table: GONE! picked up about 30 minutes ago!
  3. travel system: friend wanted the stroller, so I’m splitting it up. stroller going to church w/ me on sunday for sale. car seat going on craigslist alone, but most likely getting donated.
  4. tie-dye inventory: nothing major to report, but I did have the idea that I might be able to take the infant/children’s stuff to some local consignment shops. need to make some calls.
  5. star stacker: in bag, by the door, ready to go to church w/ me on sunday.
  6. homeschool/preschool supplies: packed a grocery bag and took to layla’s teacher today. still more stuff that would be better for preschool, so need to organize that and take it in.
  7. bibs: packed in the latest bag to go to goodwill.
  8. chewbacca costume: taken to it’s recipient yesterday!

there were a few other things I found homes for too…

  1. race track play rug: dropped off at a friend’s house on wednesday.
  2. farm play rug: taken to it’s recipient yesterday

I also have a big black garbage bag of this and that that I’ve picked up here and there around the house that will go to goodwill as soon as it’s full, which will be soon. I’m glad it’s black so the kids can’t see through it!

Smile

and then there’s the craigslist fail. I had 2 bites on my pack n play on tuesday morning. emailed back and forth a few times w/ the first one and arranged a meeting for wednesday morning. went there and sat for 20 minutes but she never showed up. BOO! so I went back home and called the second lady who had wanted it, and she had just finished purchasing a different one that morning. double BOO! so I re-listed it and hopefully will have more bites, but nothing yet. might have to lower the price, which ticks me off, since there were two people apparently willing to pay the $40 I was asking, and now there’s none. grrrr…

oh well. more sorting and such to do…

Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...