Skip to main content

the saga of micah and the never-ending mystery fever… installment 2

so this post is already anti-climactic because he’s over it! i still don’t know what it was, because he’s certainly not sick w/ anything i can see.

but anyway, installment 2 goes like this. saturday morning, he woke up cool. he was relatively happy, played, etc. once again, i was thinking we were in the clear. then sometime, late morning, he came and got me and told me he wanted to snuggle. red flag #1. so we went and cuddled up on the couch. he wound up falling asleep draped across my lap, and as he slept, i could feel him getting warmer and warmer. while he slept, i stuck the thermometer in his armpit and the highest it went was 100.4. so then i’m confused. it’s up. but not that much. do i take him in, or not?

i decided to call the nurse advice line at our dr’s office and when they called me back they basically said that since it had been that many days, he should probably be seen. so we got an appointment for early afternoon. i LOVE that about our pediatrician’s office. you can ALWAYS get in. even on the weekends.

so we go. he gets examined. the big sigh of relief came when she looked in his ears and they were fine. PHEW! she looked at everything else and said that his nose looked a little congested and his throat looked a little red, but nothing was bad enough to be concerning. so that was a little frustrating, but at least there’s nothing obvious wrong with him. we were told to give it a couple more days and come back on monday if the fever didn’t go away.

well, it did.

saturday was the last we saw of it. dave stayed home from church with him on sunday, and other than not eating a whole lot that day, he was perfectly normal, and yesterday the same.

so there you go, the never-ending mystery fever finally ended, but it’s still a mystery!

Comments

you may like...

what I wore wednesday

iiiiiiiiiiiiiit’s wednesday again!!! which means it’s time for me to brag about all of my incredibly well-thought out and likely expensive fashion endeavors prove to the world that I didn’t wear jammies all week. well, not all week… wednesday: tank: old navy, thrifted cardigan: handmedown jeans: thrifted flip flops: kohls earrings: target scarf: thrifted I was SO excited to find this scarf! it’s gorgeous! very silvery and shimmery, the blue flowers and so cute, AND it’s short! for somebody like me, who is of the not-so-tall persuasion, really long scarfs (or even standard length scarfs) can sometimes be a little overwhelming. you know? it’s like, “how many times can I wrap this thing around my neck before you can’t see my head anymore?” at any rate, this one is awesome and I love it and expect to see it on me a lot! I also found the process of trying to take a picture to be quite entertaining. I have a ‘people dog’, meaning, wherever her people are, that is where she th...

i need a fire extinguisher!

metaphorically speaking. my children are driving me nuts.  completely batty!  and i don’t mean that they annoy me.  well, sometimes they do, but that’s the least of my concerns.  i’m genuinely concerned about them.  why? they’re horrible! they fight: pinching, hitting, kicking, pushing, etc. etc. they tattle on each other. they don’t listen AT ALL to us. they complain and throw a fit when asked to do something totally reasonable.  it’s awful! i have yet to find some sort of effective discipline measure that will make any sort of improvement.  but this is only the day to day.  this is the least of my concerns. why? because these are just symptoms. these are the little fires that flare up all day long. i feel like i spend my day stomping them out.  one after another, often the exact same fire i just finished stomping out 5 minutes before!  but there’s this raging inferno all around us and as long as that’s burning, there’s nothin...

first day of school

so, we started school today. this is a big deal because it is OUR first day of official homeschooling. you know, here. at home. most everyone reading this is already aware of the fact that shane has been homeschooled since first grade, but that he has spent the majority of that ‘school’ time, with my mother as his ‘teacher’. this was a fine arrangement, she was willing and more than qualified, and he was learning. but for a variety of reasons, not the least of which being my mother’s current cancer issues, it had become clear that it was time for me to take over. AND,with layla being 4 now, i really wanted to do a little bit more preschool stuff with her. being a little bit of a chicken flake, i (with much urging from my loving husband) decided the best route to go would be with a packaged curriculum. i figured it would be the most time-effective way to cover what we needed to cover, and be somewhat dummy-proof, but at the same time, having the option to supplement with as much ...

what I wore wednesday

so… here we go again! another week, another series of outfits that attempt to look cute, coordinate, and not be jammies or sweats. it’s starting to act like fall around here. chilly in the morning, foggy, warming up to the low 70’s by afternoon. except yesterday. I think we topped out at 65 and it was FREEZING! at any rate, that means I’m starting to reach for more layers, long sleeves, and my skirts and capris are being replaced by a boring, 9 month long onslaught of long pants… but the good news about all of that is that I dug out my uggs for the first time today! woohoo! I have warm, toasty, comfy feet right now… the bad news is that you can pretty much plug those into any picture I take of my outfits from here until next may. it’s a win-lose situation. I think I’ve covered every day except saturday. I did get dressed… and I had a picture, but it was horrible, and after looking at it, I can’t believe I went out in public with my hair looking like that! at any rate, I am going to do ...

cpl party, finally

last saturday was dave’s company party, and as promised, here are some pictures. there aren’t a whole lot that really show my non-ridiculous dress, and none that show my fabulously, uncomfortably cute red shoes, but this is what i’ve got. see my cute red bag? my shoes matched it. that’s me w/ my back to the camera… white sash. it was a "blues brother’s" theme… notice all the hats and the band. made for very fun dancing music! mr. ‘white man’s overbite’, himself. more dancing. really, i did dance with my husband, just not when anyone was taking a picture. okay, dave just sent me a new one that someone else took. we’re actually dancing together, AND, you can see my shoes… disregard the totally goofy look on my face. sorry that the pictures and captions are a little funky. i usually use live writers to do posts w/ pictures in them but for some reason, it wouldn't publish to blogger right now, so i had to redo the post and the pictures never line up right...