Skip to main content

memorial day weekend w/ nolan

nolan came for a visit this weekend and we were busy! we picked him up at the airport on friday evening, came home and ate pizza and watched the mariners beat the giants on tv.IMG_1582you can see that micah took to godfather nolan right away. thought he was awesome! and yes, he is wearing a sparkly, pink cheerleader costume. layla decided she wanted to be a princess and if layla was going to dress up, then so was micah. it was about this point when i realized that some gender-neutral dress up clothes might be in order sometime soon. HA! but he does look cute, doesn’t he?IMG_1581

on saturday morning, the boys (all of them) took off to hike mt. si. that’s it, behind that building.IMG_1600 IMG_1589IMG_1596  they had a great time, and came home all blistered, sore and tired. but they made it. dave and nolan switched off with the backpack. micah was pretty antsy by the time they got to the top, and wanted to explore more than he was really able to. he took a little nap on the way back down.

IMG_1590 apparently, mt. rainier is supposed to be behind them in this picture, but it doesn’t show up.

while they boys were on their hike, layla and i were at a birthday party. that was fun, but while we were there, layla had a ‘bladder episode’. i had to take her to the bathroom 4 times in 45 minutes, AND she had one accident in that time. so it’s not just being outside or the sun or whatever. she did have some orange juice, which we kind of targeted as a problem last year, but she’s generally been fine with it since. who knows. then she came home and painted herself red with the fingerpaint that was in the party favor bag. i couldn’t take a picture of it because the camera was with dave, but it was pretty funny. it’s great having one of those kids. then she washed herself off in the water table. yes, IN. where did this child come from?  she passed out on the couch after this and woke up with a cold. HELLO? what the heck! that evening, micah decided he had it too. YAY!

(oh, that night we watched the game again and the giants won.)

sunday, after church, we changed into our team colors and then went over to the park for a quick picnic before heading to the game. while we were sitting at the table, layla noticed that we had some visitors show up UNDER our table!  they were very friendly, so of course we fed them everything we had! that’s my hand, btw. very exciting! iphone 5-25-09 038iphone 5-25-09 040micah was so excited he chased them all over the park yelling “quack” at the top of his lungs.

then we headed to the game. we had fabulous seats! row 1 of the left field bleachers! it was awesome, except that i was terrified that someone was going to tumble over the edge into the bullpen; shane was terrified that micah was going to toss something over the edge into the bullpen; we were sitting DIRECTLY in the sun; we left our sunscreen in the car; micah and layla were both grumpy and antsy because they were hot, had runny noses, needed naps, and could care less about a baseball game; micah spotted a pile of spilled popcorn on the floor under the bleachers and was FURIOUS that i wouldn’t let him eat it. need i go on? eventually, everyone but me got up and went to go see about the play structure, which they couldn’t use because you have to make a reservation for it before the game starts, and eventually found some empty seats, in the shade, over by the left field foul pole. the seating attendant apparently felt sorry for our red-faced, cranky children and allowed us to sit there for the rest of the game. nolan came and got me and i joined them, even though, without the kids, i was enjoying my sunny view of the game and working on tanning my pasty shins! 

IMG_1601IMG_1602  world’s best dad, right here! IMG_1610IMG_1605IMG_1606

i think everyone was finally happy by the 8th inning. micah passed out and layla and shane had cotton candy. aaaahhhh, peace.

IMG_1607                                  the giants fans! (and micah) too bad for them… mariners won, 5-4! woo hoo!IMG_1618                                       our split-allegiance family!       

oh, i almost forgot to mention that shane is wearing a giants shirt UNDER his mariners jersey. gramma and papa sent up new giants shirts for him and dave. dave and i were both lobbying hard as to which shirt would be worn on the outside. as you can see, he’s a good boy!  mama’s proud!

Comments

  1. Looks like a GREAT weekend! But come on Dave...can't carry ALL the kids? What about poor Shane he needs to walk?...now that's not fair! HA HA

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

all comments are moderated. unkind comments will be deleted.

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...