Skip to main content

meal plan wednesday… and further ramblings…

oh grocery shopping! i am so glad to be DONE with you for another week.

  • wednesday: pork roast; mashed potatoes'; corn
  • thursday: homemade mac & cheese; peas and carrots
  • friday: pizza; green beans
  • saturday: burgers; fries; carrots
  • sunday: egg-potato-bacon scrambles
  • monday: creamy italian chicken; noodles; salad
  • tuesday: pork roast sandwiches; fries; green beans

NEXT wednesday: leftovers!

thanks to the recent addition of sophie to our household, i had to buy dog food today. that kind of ticked me off. not because we have to feed her, but because 1) i have to squeeze that out of my grocery money somehow, and 2) safeway only sells the small bag of the kind she eats, which means it’s more expensive.  so i’m going to have to work that out somehow.  does anyone happen to know the cheapest place to get iams dog food?

this whole $100 weekly food budget is good, as far as keeping that spending under control, but the limited amount of cash i carry keeps me from taking advantage of some good sales. today, for example, the bread i buy was on sale, 2 for $5.  that’s a good deal, and this kind doesn’t go on sale very often. i only bought one loaf though, because i had to keep the rest of my list in mind. i find myself having to buy a smaller package of something, just to keep my #’s low, even though the bigger one is cheaper in the long run. so i need to look at that. i’m thinking it might be more advantageous to shop monthly, except for produce and buy bigger quantities. i’m also wanting to take a kid-free trip to costco, to have a look at the prices of things i buy regularly, and see if it’s a better deal to buy it there. i’ve never, in my life, paid attention to how much different things cost at the grocery store. i really have no idea what is a good deal and what isn’t. meat, for example. is meat cheaper at costco? what about diapers? when shane was a baby, i bought huggies at costco because it was convenient. when layla was a baby, there was no costco and no target, so i bought luvs at walmart. (i didn’t even consider luvs when shane was a baby because they had barney on them, and i wasn’t going there!) i’d save huggies or pampers coupons i got in the mail, but it was rarely worth it, because, even with the coupon, luvs were still cheaper. after we moved back here, i was thrilled to have costco again, but since dave was working at target at the time, it was still cheaper to get the luvs at target with his discount. so now we have no discount, and i’ve been buying the costco brand, which i’ve discovered is the same price as the huggies there, but i really don’t care which brand i buy because they’re basically identical. but i guess i need to price the ones at target again since i just got a bucketload of coupons in the mail. then i wonder if all this is really worth it. actually, with the weather getting nicer, i’m using our cloth diapers more and more. it’s just a stupid personal thing, but i hate using the cloth ones with pants because the covers we have make the fronts of the pants look really fat and stupid. i don’t mind the butt bulk, but front-side bulk is more than i can handle. i know, it’s stupid, but in the summer, i just have him run around in a shirt and a diaper, usually with no cover. so i guess the diaper debate is really irrelevant. hope you enjoyed reading it!  HA!

this is just me, embracing being poor! wish me luck!

Comments

  1. I buy costco's frozen chicken breasts for $17 and their frozen alaskan salmon for somewhere around $20. Once a few months ago, I ran out of the costco chicken and just got some from Fred Meyer w/o looking at the price - $10 for 3 breasts! Holy crap! Needless to say, we only get costco's now - plus, it never seems to have gross parts which is a plus!
    I like costco diapers, and get them when I can - I get sticker shock though, so most of the time we get huggies. We loved Target brand until H started crawling, and the few times since we've used them it's been wasteful since they would tear, leak, etc so much - their side panels just don't have quite enough give I don't think.
    About prices at grocery stores - I never used to look either. I just would get what we liked and it was fine - until about 6 months ago, I had to just pick up a loaf of bread and I ran in, picked up our usual, and when it was rung up it was like $5.50 - holy crow! Now, I struggle, but have taught myself to look at other bread, etc for prices.... being a grown-up is so fun!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Try a farm co op for dog food. There might even be one in Woodinville or maybe Bothell. I know there is one in Marysville. If that isn't an option, a place like Petsmart usually has decent prices on the premium dog food. I think Costco carries Iams too.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I have to run to Denny's Pet Store tomorrow, since we're OUT of Dog food too...poor girl is getting extra treats today! (BAD puppy mom, BAD!) We don't get Iams, Collie's have freakin' "sensitive stomachs" and she gets sick if she eats it...damn thing! We pay through the nose ($45 for 40#) for some fancy lamb and brown rice crap...if it wasn't for the mess with anything else, she'd get something cheaper...but SO not worth it!!! But luckily a 40# bag lasts her about a month and a half....anyway...I'll look and see what Iams is at Denny's and let you know!

    I have been wanting to buy meat at costco because it is cheaper...but since I would need to buy a freezer to store it in it won't pay off for awhile...we don't eat THAT much meat in this house! HA HA

    Good for you being budget minded, I'm always amazed at people who are that organized and can stay to a budget and meal plan like you...I try and always fail (mostly because I'm to lazy to cook what's planned for one night and it screws everything up!)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

all comments are moderated. unkind comments will be deleted.

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...