Skip to main content

some people completely baffle me

so yesterday morning, i was forced to get up very early and go wait around the YMCA to sign shane up for his homezone class. after sitting around for like 45 minutes in which time i filled out forms, drank coffee, tried to keep from dozing off, drank coffee, tried to read a book, and drank more coffee, they finally called my number. i gave them my forms and a check and they signed shane up for the proper day, etc. yay. one more thing done.

on my way out, i noticed a beautiful classic VW bug. now, being a bug enthusiast, i took a minute (or 5) to do a walk around and check this bug out. it wasn't in perfect condition, but pretty close. it was red, late '60s i'd say. maybe '67 or '68. it looked something like this:

but without the fancy hubcaps. i checked out all the places that i had 'issues' with mine and typical trouble spots. there was no rust to speak of. no bubbles under the paint near the chrome. the interior was fabulous! and... there was a box of stuff on the floor in the back seat, so i can only assume it doesn't leak! my bug took on so much water you would think i would need to bail!

so as i'm galking at this car, i was apparently standing in an empty parking space next to it. not that this should have been a big deal. but behind me i heard a horn honk. i didn't think much of it, but then i thought it might be someone i knew trying to get my attention. so i looked up. no one i knew, but a woman in a white minivan who was looking at me like i was the biggest pain-in-the-butt on the planet and how dare i stand in a parking space. she does this little "move along now idiot" motion with her hand at me and i quickly walked away toward my car. now it's not like i was parked a mile away or anything and let me just say that i passed at least 4 open spaces on my way to my car! so then i start getting all mad. eventually, i started to find it a little funny. especially when, as i was driving away, i passed another space, even closer to the building, just on the other side of this bug i had been looking at.

so seriously. what was this woman thinking? it's not like it was costco on a saturday morning. the lot was full of other spaces! but she had to have that one. and then i was thinking about it some more and thought what i would do - if i were at costco on a saturday morning and the lot was full, not at the ymca at 9am on a monday - and i most certainly wouldn't honk my horn at someone. that's just plain rude. i think i might put my window down a little and say 'excuse me' or something like that.

geez. the manners of some people!

Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...