Skip to main content

week 30 in pictures

sunday: I really don’t know why they have underwear on their heads, but they do. and therefore that is photo-worthy.054

tuesday: I cleared out my mom’s china cabinet to help her get stuff ready to move. when my grandma died, she left her china to me. but I was 7. so my mom has had it, along with a bunch that is hers. eventually, the china cabinet will come over here. I can’t wait! it was so much fun looking at all of this stuff. every one is different, and SO beautiful!020

wednesday: fishing. turned into ‘swimming’… 067070073

also on wednesday (above), dave made me try out the clip in pedals on shane’s bike (which will be mine when he outgrows it). this is what happened the one time I didn’t get unclipped in time… nevermind the bruise on my knee.

thursday: car broke down. had to wait a long time in the hot sun. found shade next to the biodiesel pumphouse thing at the gas station. ross met us there with the toyota, and dave took a bus there. eventually… we got towed to a garage down the road. it was not a lot of fun.083084

after we dropped the van at the repair shop, I got to cram myself in the back of the toyota between 2 car seats. it was not awesome.094

also thursday: the good part of the day… I got taken out to a birthday dinner by some friends… stuffed ourselves silly on fondue and had a great time catching up.095103

friday: shane and I were out in the backyard when I suddenly heard a familiar sound. it was darth vader in the distance! not really, but you wouldn’t believe how excited I was to hear that sound! a few minutes later, one of our familiar yellow hot air balloons rose above the trees, followed shortly by the second one! balloon sightings were almost daily in the summer months at our old house and one of the things I was really lamenting about leaving there was not getting to see them fly by anymore. so, obviously, this was met with great excitement!2012-07-294116

and then there’s the way ginger passed out while we were all watching the opening ceremonies of the olympics. wedged between the couch and coffee table, she managed to wriggle herself onto her back. feet up in the air… funny dog.

 

 

 

 

saturday: shane has befriended our neighbors (big surprise) and helped them with numerous projects already (big surprise). these neighbors have some ATVs and offered to teach shane to ride after he’d finished helping them out with something. he JUMPED at the chance (big surprise) and was absolutely in heaven… 120

and the instagrams…

004006008010013015017019059060062064066069072076078080082086090093101102105115

book shots:066065

Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...