Skip to main content

cali trip 2011–day 8

our FINAL day in EG. we started the day with laundry and cleaning out the car, organizing the suitcases, etc.

I heard micah complaining out the front door, and layla came in and told me that daddy had put him in a time out and had buckled him into his car seat so he couldn’t get away. I thought this was odd, but figured it was between dave and micah and went on about my business.445about 10 minutes later, micah was still there and no sign of dave, so I went out to the car, where he and gary were looking under the hood at something, to ask if he was ever going to talk to micah about whatever it was he was in trouble for and let him out of his seat. dave knew nothing about it. apparently, micah had sat down in his seat and buckled himself in, but couldn’t get out. where layla got the story about the time out, I have no idea…

shane had wanted to go and ride the train in old sac, which only runs on saturdays and sundays, so we made one last trip through in-n-out, and headed to sacramento.447there was a costumed balloon sculptor by the depot who made “eyeballs” for micah and layla. they were very excited about them.

448I was pleased to see that the train was going to be pulled by the steam locomotive this time. last year, I was disappointed.449  micah and papa, on board with their tickets!453  layla has her ticket ready.459467  selfie with the engine going by behind us. at the end of the line, the engine unhooks, pulls back, switches tracks, goes past the train on a side track, switches tracks again, and then hooks up to the other end of the train to pull it back.472  dave and his mommy.477   “take a picture of my eyeball!”478 “now take a picture of my actual eyeball!”479  dave, modeling the ‘eyeballs’.487  california state capitol.

and then it was back in the pool for one last swim.490  dave, giving layla a no-floaties swimming lesson.492  and then giving micah one too. micah just wanted to go under water again and again. he thought it was the greatest!

in the evening, laurie, layla and I got to go to sophia’s ballet recital. however, laurie had the time written down wrong, so we had an hour to kill. there was supposed to be a $2 tank top sale at old navy, so we stopped by there.496  the tank tops were sold out, but layla wanted to pose as a mannequin.497  layla and ballerina sophia after the show! we really enjoyed being able to see it!

Comments

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

instafriday

it’s friday again!!! and that means: layla, still sick, but enjoying some brady bunch episodes in the recliner, with a cat, and a… tent? no idea. this warms my heart! checking out our family history via project life… circa 2007. LOVE! what I spent my sunday evening tackling: done! thank goodness. micah’s “hooked”! hahaha! a quick visit to the library. dinner: meatloaf, green beans, and very pretty roasted potatoes. I got this awesome little bundle at the store that had yukon golds, red, and purple potatoes. purple potatoes are SO fun! I tossed them with some olive oil, salt and pepper, thyme, oregano, a little rosemary, and a bunch of garlic! so yummy. the meatloaf was good, too! operation: pick out cheesy, cheapo valentines. yes, I live in yuppy-ville. if you call 1-888-dog-waste, you can PAY someone to scoop your dog poop for you.I wonder if shane knows about this… empty peanut butter jar = very happy dog. yes, that’s my 5 year old, excitedly tromping in to preschool with...

snifflesniffle, coughcough, ACHOOOOO!!!

ugh. we’ve been hit. first cold of the fall. micah started it a couple days ago. yesterday my throat felt a little scratchy, and by dinner time, I had to declare myself officially SICK. I passed out on the couch last night while dave was watching the giants game, and when I woke up, I made some announcement about how much my throat hurt, and he said, ‘yeah, me too’. so he’s down. and then shane woke up this morning not feeling well. LAYLA, however, is just fine. believe it or not, my child who picks up cold viruses like a magnet is the only one without a cold right now. I’m completely flabbergasted by this, but I’m certainly not holding my breath. I am really kind of astonished by the fact that she hasn’t gotten sick yet. school started over a month ago and, given her track record, I kind of expected to have to call her in sick the second day. but no. she’s been FINE. hopefully it’ll stay that way… maybe the school environment has kicked her immune system into hyperdrive or s...