Skip to main content

further PL endeavors

I’m catching up! the guilt (at least in the photo/memory department) is dwindling! my work on this year’s project life album got me itching to take care of the years of backlogged photos that have been haunting me from the depths of my external hard drive and enormous black box on the shelf of my closet.

back in march, I plowed through 2010, followed quickly by 2009. what a relief! 2 years of of our family’s life, via photos and their stories, safely stashed in albums where they can be enjoyed!

but then I had a problem.

I was out of albums! the two albums I’d used for ‘09 and ‘10 were creative memories albums I had on hand, but with those used, what next?

I weighed my options. no, seriously, I scoured websites, writing down prices, adding things up, trying to figure out what would be the most cost-effective way to accomplish what I needed to accomplish. I had at least 4 more years’ worth of pictures to deal with. I’m not real heavy on the embellishments, but I did want some nice papers, journaling boxes or cards, and the like.

I really, really wanted to remain loyal to creative memories, and I liked what I saw, as far as some of their lines of papers went. but OMG, to do what I needed to do, would have cost me upwards of $100 and that was BEFORE printing my pictures!  eek! I no way could I do that 4 times over!

so I priced stuff at craft stores like ben franklin and joann’s. albums were definitely cheaper there, but I ran into the same problem I always do, shopping scrapbooking supplies at places like that. it’s overwhelming! I get dizzy wandering through all the displays of papers and stickers (which I never use, anyway), and other such stuff that I don’t even know what I would do with. I am not a ‘fancy’ scrapbooker. I look at magazines and websites devoted to ideas and layouts and I don’t like ANY of them. I am not trying to make a work of art out of one page. I am not going to put one picture on a 12x12 page, fill the rest in with fancy papers, designs, words that are not my own to start with, and other such fanciness. if that’s your kind of scrapbooking, please don’t take offense, it’s just not my thing. to me, that’s a waste of space in an expensive book! I want at least 3, maybe 4 pictures on that page, enough color/design to make it look not boring, and the words I write to document what is going on in the picture or possibly the story behind it. that’s it. there’s no room in my book, my budget (or my patience) for other stuff.

then, I checked out all the digital photobook sites, like shutterfly, picaboo, and snapfish. those are spendy too, and without having a clear idea of how many pages I would need to do, it was hard to gauge how much it was going to cost.

and so I looked at project life. all in all, that was EASILY going to be the cheapest way to do it. but I had qualms there, too. the biggest one was that the slots in the photo sleeves are oriented horizontally. I keep that in mind now, and make sure that I take most of my pictures horizontally, especially if I’m having in mind that it might be a POTD. but I never used to do that. and I really couldn’t handle it if a bunch of the pictures were displayed sideways. seriously, couldn’t. (don’t worry, I know I need help!) I was also concerned because, in my head, PL was to be done in a picture a day format, laid out by weeks. this was very rigid in my head, and I obviously didn’t have a picture for every day in years past. my picture taking was very sporadic, and there were some months that I had only 4 or 5 pictures for the whole month.

it was all very confusing.

I kind of put the whole idea on hold for awhile, without having come to any conclusions.

I thought about it a little more, here and there, and explored some ‘different’ ideas about PL that becky higgins had posted on her blog. I kind of broadened my ideas about how I could use it and make it work for my needs. in the back of my mind, I was pretty sure that was what I wanted to do. AND, since I was using the 2010 edition of the kit for my current 2011 album, I could use the 2011 editions (or at least the amber, which I was in love with from the first time I saw it) for back years. I had also done a little bit of math, and figured out that I could easily fit 2 years’ worth of pictures in one album. WOW! that would rock and be totally economical! I was sold, but not figuring it was an emergency and I’d order them when I had some spare money laying around (you know, cuz that happens all the time).

and then I got a text from mary. becky higgins had announced on facebook that the turquoise edition was selling out. there were only 10 left and they weren’t going to be making more. there were more of the amber, but not a ton. after those were gone, PL would be unavailable until the new year’s kits were put on sale. EEK!

I IM’d dave and announced that I NEEDED to spend $106 right away!!!

thankfully, I have a husband that understands ‘scrabooking emergencies’. I ordered one of each of the kits and spent the rest of the afternoon hoping that I had got my order in in time, because about an hour after the announcement went out, the turquoise was listed as unavailable.

so, to sum up: I got both albums. I love them. I figured out that if I take my vertical photos, and collage them in picassa with another vertical photo, I can cut them in half and they’ll fit in the smaller slots. phew! that saves SO much of my sanity (and we all know that it’s a precious commodity). I decided to start with the turquoise album (you know, save my fave for last – not that I don’t like the turquoise). I got all of 2007’s pictures organized and printed right away, and I’m working through the journaling. I just picked up 2008’s pictures from costco yesterday, and I’m going to get them in the book today. then journaling, and on to 2005 and 2006!

and then, at some point, I’ll finish my kids’ baby albums and figure out what to do with all the pre-digital pictures I have in 2004 and prior…

and my wedding album…

but that’s a whole other issue that I don’t want to talk about.

it might require therapy.

Comments

  1. I simply love to get inside your head in these posts. Love the way you write. :)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

all comments are moderated. unkind comments will be deleted.

you may like...

boxed in.

so i’m feeling a little bit stifled right now. when i took over responsibility for shane’s education, i knew i was making a big time/lifestyle commitment. i also figured that layla and eventually, micah would be involved in this endeavor. i knew that i was stepping out into a great unknown, having never completely done this sort of thing before. it was an experiment. in general, this experiment has gone well. not entirely as planned, but well, nonetheless. i mean really, when you’re dealing with kids (or other human beings, for that matter) what does go as planned. but at this point, i have to say that homeschooling is NOT my favorite thing. it’s not that i can’t do it. it’s not that shane isn’t learning. it’s not that i’m excessively overwhelmed or that i feel like i’m failing. it’s not any of that. the best thing i can figure out is that i feel ‘boxed in’. i feel like my time and opportunities are so limited for all of us. it’s not just about shane, and with layla and micah so mu...

vacations stink… and why i can’t grocery shop

so tuesday, i managed to dig around in my hat a little more and discovered a rabbit named papa john.  essentially, i shuffled the week again, and had our friday pizza on tuesday.  and, in actuality it’s something that was going to happen anyway because we were so excited about having the new papa john’s open up, but realized that we were not going to be home on friday (date night!!!).  SO, that was my excuse. anyway, yesterday, i finally HAD to go.  i had been wondering if it was really so bad, or if it was just one of those things that i was building up in my head as awful and making it worse and worse every time i procrastinated longer. i had to head to redmond, so i figured i’d go to the bella bottega qfc, rather than my usual stop at safeway.  that was my first mistake.  no, actually, that was my last mistake.  the first was not doing it sooner, the second was taking all 3 kids with me.  if it is possible to make grocery shopping with 3 ki...

what I wore wednesday

iiiiiiiiiiiiiit’s wednesday again!!! which means it’s time for me to brag about all of my incredibly well-thought out and likely expensive fashion endeavors prove to the world that I didn’t wear jammies all week. well, not all week… wednesday: tank: old navy, thrifted cardigan: handmedown jeans: thrifted flip flops: kohls earrings: target scarf: thrifted I was SO excited to find this scarf! it’s gorgeous! very silvery and shimmery, the blue flowers and so cute, AND it’s short! for somebody like me, who is of the not-so-tall persuasion, really long scarfs (or even standard length scarfs) can sometimes be a little overwhelming. you know? it’s like, “how many times can I wrap this thing around my neck before you can’t see my head anymore?” at any rate, this one is awesome and I love it and expect to see it on me a lot! I also found the process of trying to take a picture to be quite entertaining. I have a ‘people dog’, meaning, wherever her people are, that is where she th...

progress…

wash lindsey’s sleeping bags and return. set up tent to air and sweep out all the dirt. pick raspberries. check pool, add water. get skimmer for pool. clean up stuff in backyard. clean out cooler and return to mom and dad. clean bathrooms. catch up on laundry. (well, mostly. just have one load left to fold and put away.) fold and put away the pile of sheets that has been in my room for weeks. :) sweep and mop dining room and kitchen floor. plan meals and grocery shop for the week. costco run. put away all camping stuff in a somewhat orderly fashion. vacuum rug in garage. put away doll house in garage and stash toys. clean mom and dad’s on thursday. return pei’s lantern. work on mom’s shawl. get shane’s bike. pick up library books. i put #15 and #16 in blue because they’re done, but i didn’t do them. last night after dinner, i took shane and layla with me to cold stone to get a little birthday tre...

i need a fire extinguisher!

metaphorically speaking. my children are driving me nuts.  completely batty!  and i don’t mean that they annoy me.  well, sometimes they do, but that’s the least of my concerns.  i’m genuinely concerned about them.  why? they’re horrible! they fight: pinching, hitting, kicking, pushing, etc. etc. they tattle on each other. they don’t listen AT ALL to us. they complain and throw a fit when asked to do something totally reasonable.  it’s awful! i have yet to find some sort of effective discipline measure that will make any sort of improvement.  but this is only the day to day.  this is the least of my concerns. why? because these are just symptoms. these are the little fires that flare up all day long. i feel like i spend my day stomping them out.  one after another, often the exact same fire i just finished stomping out 5 minutes before!  but there’s this raging inferno all around us and as long as that’s burning, there’s nothin...